Monday, 29 September 2014

Welcome To The 22nd John Treacy Dungarvan 10 Mile Road Race

Entries Open October 1st
As and from Wednesday next October 1st entries will open for the 22nd Annual John Treacy Dungarvan 10 which will be held on Sunday February 1st 2015, with a start time of 1.30pm. West Waterford Athletic Club have announced details of the event which has established itself as a must run race on the Irish road running calendar with participants from all four corners of the country and beyond participating. The race has grown year on year and is a pre entry race which will close when 2.000 entries is reached. ( please note this race was full in a very short time last year ).
West Waterford Athletic Club is delighted with the support it receives from its sponsor for this event, we are fortunate to have the support of the local authorities, Glaxosmithkline, Dungarvan Shopping Centre, Glanbia, Tipperary Water, Flahavan’s, Déise Design, Go Dungarvan smarter travel, along with many other local businesses and individuals who are all giving valuable support helping to make the day a great occasion for the town of Dungarvan.The race also incorporates the popular John Treacy Club Challenge Cup for men’s and ladies teams which has proved to be hugely competitive. We will again be calling on all the athletic clubs of Ireland to take on the challenge in 2015 event.The John Treacy Dungrvan 10 bring’s together the ideal race combination of fun runners, joggers, club athletes and top class internationals who compete over a fast flat 10 mile course around the historic town of Dungarvan ,we look forward to welcoming you to our town on February 1st 2015. Don't be disappointed as many were last year get your entry in as soon as entries open October 1st.

John Treacy Club Challenge

The John Treacy Club Challenge is now a firmly established Competition Nationwide, previous winners of the men's team event include the host club West Waterford AC and Clonliffe Harriers AC and East Cork AC while Eagle A.C. Leevale AC and St.Finbarrs AC have been to the fore in the Ladies event. The current holders are East Cork AC in the men's with a combined finish time of 2.39.25 while St Finbarrs AC hold the ladies title with their finish time of 3.09.32 .